Samar music review

Staring : Vishal, Trisha, Sunaina, Manoj Bajpai, J.D. Chakravarthy

Director : Thiru

Music : Yuvan Shankar Raja

Production : T. Ramesh

Thiru-Yuvan-Vishal, the Theeratha Vilayatu Pillai trio is back this time with Samar. Expectations are high on Yuvan since his recent release Moondru Per Moondru Kadha has become a hit. Does Yuvan keep the momentum with “Samar”? Check it out…


1) Oru Kannil Vegam- Singers- KG Ranjith, Naveen Madhav, Suchithra ; Lyrics : Na Muthukumar

Another hero worship song, thanks to the stylish beats and vocals. Otherwise the number sounds pretty ordinary.

Rating: 6/10

My Rating in the album: 4/5

2) Azhago Azhagu – Singers: Naresh Iyer ; Lyrics: Na Muthukumar

Easily one of the best songs in the album beautifully sung by Naresh Iyer. The second interlude portion is commendable. Yuvan’s stylish drum beats adds poignant beauty to the song. This song will find its place on the lines of “Thuli Thuli” from Paiyya

Rating: 9/10

My Rating in the album:1/5

3) Poikaal Kuthirai – Singers: Yuvan; Lyrics: Na Muthukumar

An experimental song from Yuvan similar to the dark numbers which he has done for Selvaraghavan’s film but this one doesn’t have that classiness. The song will probably gain momentum along with the visuals when released

Rating: 7/10

My Rating in the album: 3/5

4)Velai Mayil- Singers :Udit Narayan, Shwetha Mohan ; Lyrics: Na Muthukumar

Though the tune sounds as a normal Yuvan number, the vocals by Udit Narayan and Swetha Mohan grabs our attention. The song could have been better with some good Tamil pronunciation from Udit Narayanan.   

Rating: 8/10

My Rating in the album: 2/5

5) Rajavin Thotathil – Singers – G Ranjith, Rita; Lyrics: Na Muthukumar.

An ordinary item number from Yuvan. Nothing special except Rita’s vocals too.

Rating: 5/10

My Rating in the album: 5/5.

Bottom line:

The last outing of Thiru-Vishal-Yuvan, Theeratha Vilayatu Pillai was an excellent album. But this one doesn’t lives up to the expectations.


Verdict : Commercial hangover